Bad Big Ten Shirts: Goldy Gopher Go Braugh

February 7, 2012

B1G, Bad B1G Shirts, MN

Those who know me well, know that I find the random ‘Irishing Up’ of team sports wear to be one of the most reprehensible marketing ploys of all-time.  Maybe it’s because my heritage is absolutely 0.0% Irish, but I believe St. Patrick’s Day to be the most marginal of holidays. I certainly don’t need to celebrate someone else’s heritage as an excuse to drink, as being a Golden Gopher fan gives me a long list of legitimate reasons to imbibe. 

And while ‘Go Braugh’ is Gaelic for ‘Forever’, and I support that notion with respect to Goldy Gopher, this shirt is still absolutely horrible.  I don’t like to see my favorite sports mascot abandoning the beloved Maroon and Gold for a gaudy shade of green. 

,

About Gopher Bandanna Guy

Connoisseur of Steely Dan, Soundgarden, smoked fish, and Singapore Slings. D-Lions and Tigers fan since 1982. Proud Golden Gopher Alum, Class of '99. SKI U MAH!

View all posts by Gopher Bandanna Guy

More From Daily Big Ten

Get more Daily Big Ten via RSS feed, Twitter and Facebook. You'll like it.

One Comment on “Bad Big Ten Shirts: Goldy Gopher Go Braugh”

  1. furniture Says:

    Hi, thanks for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

