Blotter: Wolverines Dismiss Stonum

January 17, 2012

B1G Blotter, Mich Football

Darryl Stonum was dismissed from the Michigan football team today.

The Michigan Wolverines dismissed wide receiver Darryl Stonum from the team Tuesday, 11 days after he was jailed for violating probation in a drunken driving case.

Stonum, a Stafford, Texas native who was redshirted in 2011, was pulled over while driving with a suspended license after he was earlier cited for drunken driving.

“I love Darryl and wish him nothing but the absolute best,” Michigan coach Brady Hoke said in a news release. “However, there is a responsibility and a higher standard you must be accountable to as a University of Michigan football student-athlete. That does not and will not change. It’s unfortunate because I believe he has grown a great deal as a person since the beginning of the season. My hope is that maturing process continues.”

Stonum, who caught 76 passes for 1,008 yards and six touchdowns while at Michigan, took responsibility for his troubles and thanked Hoke and the university.

“I look forward to continuing my football career down the road, but more importantly, right now I’m focused on graduating from Michigan this spring I understand only I am responsible for my actions,” he said in the release. “I’m sad about how all of this turned out, but I completely understand. I love this school and my team and will miss them all greatly.

“But I’ll always be a Wolverine. I know I have grown and matured as a person over the last nine months, and I will continue to learn and grow every day. I want to thank everyone for all of their support, and I hope they will support me in the future.”

, , ,

About Tony

Founder of Ball Eight.

View all posts by Tony

More From Daily Big Ten

Get more Daily Big Ten via RSS feed, Twitter and Facebook. You'll like it.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

