Announcements: Ball Staying, Worthy Going

January 5, 2012

MSU Football, UW Football

Jerel Worthy won't be seeing Montee Ball in the NFL next season.

As reported yesterday, Montee Ball announced Thursday that he is sticking around for his senior year at Wisconsin.

“I listened to my heart and I will be returning for my senior season,” Ball said, according to a Tweet from the Wisconsin Alumni account.

Ball, a Heisman finalist, rushed for 1,923 yards and 33 touchdowns. He had 306 receiving yards and six more touchdowns. That’s a lot.

Elsewhere …

Jerel Worthy

In East Lansing, defensive tackle Jerel Worthy announced he was leaving for the NFL. After his announcement, he Tweeted:

Thanks Spartan Nation for all the great memories. As hard as it is for me to go. I want you all to know that I will always be a Spartan!

As ESPN noted, he’s making the right call: “He was a first-team All-American this year and his numbers — 30 tackles, 10.5 for loss and 3.5 sacks — don’t tell the full story of his performance. Worthy commanded constant double teams and blew up the inside of offensive lines all season, a key reason why the Spartans finished No. 5 nationally in total defense this season.”

The 6-foot-3, 300-pound lineman is ranked No. 20 on Mel Kiper’s draft projections.

, ,

About Tony

Founder of Ball Eight.

View all posts by Tony

More From Daily Big Ten

Get more Daily Big Ten via RSS feed, Twitter and Facebook. You'll like it.

8 Comments on “Announcements: Ball Staying, Worthy Going”

  1. Gopher Bandanna Guy Says:

    Crazy. Very surprised Ball decided to stay, and I personally believe he’d be drafted higher than 3rd round. His production and shiftiness smell like late 1st, early 2nd to me. But what do I know? I thought Charles Rogers was going to be the next Jerry Rice.

    Hope nothing goes wrong for him on this decision, but I also hope that he rushes for negative yardage versus the Gophers. The latter is far less probable.

    Reply

  2. Hal Coldvice Says:

    Claims he made a 4 year commitment to be a Badger and he just loves this place. He must be getting a lot of flack on twitter based on something I RT’d from him.

    Reply

  3. Dusty12 Says:

    I agree with you all; Not sure he made right decision for himself, I don’t get it, and I

    I’m just glad he’s coming back. We’ll have lots of depth at RB. Now if we can get someone who can throw the ball and catch the ball (besides Abs) he might actually get that Heisman. (Am I over the Oregon loss too quickly talking Heisman? Probably.)

    Reply

  4. Dusty12 Says:

    For Pete’s Sake Mr. Daily Big Ten Tony… I have to learn about two huge piece of news on Big Ten from ESPN’s website: Penn State has a new football coach and your very own Keith Smart is now an NBA head coach. Quit slacking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

