Who Has The Worst Fans In The Big Ten?

January 4, 2012

B1G, IA, Ill, IU, MN, MSU, NE, NU, OSU, PSU, PUR, UM, WI

We are not suggesting Iowa's fans are the worst.

We have a simple poll for you today, and please feel free to add your reasons in the comments.

, ,

About Tony

Founder of Ball Eight.

View all posts by Tony

More From Daily Big Ten

Get more Daily Big Ten via RSS feed, Twitter and Facebook. You'll like it.

42 Comments on “Who Has The Worst Fans In The Big Ten?”

  1. Spencer Says:

    Purdue football fans have to be among the worst. Then again, many its the football program thats the worst…

    Reply

  2. Spencer Says:

    I meant “maybe its the football program”

    Reply

  3. dusty 12 Says:

    Hmmm. Thought Michigan would once again unite the Big Ten fan base. Best part of the Big Ten hoops tournament is when Michigan is playing. It’s 10 schools (soon to be 11) cheering against whoever’s playing Michigan.

    Though a begrudging compliment to the Wolverines: Nice win yesterday. You’re back (in football). Hoke was a great hire.

    Reply

  4. dusty 12 Says:

    PS– And hiring Hoke sucks, too, because he seems like a very likable guy. Hard to hate. Thank goodness for Urban Meyer — very easy to step into the villain role.

    Reply

  5. Hal Coldvice Says:

    Tony, you have to post my tweet from last night. It’s directly related to this topic and exactly what Dusty is saying.

    Reply

  6. Hal Coldvice Says:

    It appears we can vote more than once and someone’s hitting refresh on Purdue. They are annoying, but I don’t hate ’em that much. 🙂

    Reply

    • Hal Coldvice Says:

      Wow, Purdue from 18% to 28% by the time I post that last message.

      Reply

    • Tony Says:

      You get this message if you vote more than once:

      “Thank you, we have already counted your vote.”

      It’s at the top of the poll screen.

      (Vote totals are still pretty low, so that will change percentages pretty quickly.)

      Reply

  7. Spencer Says:

    I do have to say, Michigan fans were really douchy when I went to a game in Ann Arbor. OSU is obnoxious because they do their O-H-I-O EVERYWHERE. We get it. You can spell. Lots of people have jumped on the Bucky bandwagon, which is probably more frustrating to die hard Wisco fans that it is to me. Purdue fans are just really apathetic and don’t really show support which is the most frustrating. Other than that, I don’t really have many problems with B1G fans.

    Reply

  8. Tony Says:

    I, for one, am going with the fan base that rioted when their football coach got fired for not doing more to stop an alleged child molester.

    (Just for the 2011-12 season. Then we will re-evaluate.)

    Reply

  9. Spencer Says:

    maybe** not worst. we need an edit button.

    Reply

  10. rowdiesdotcom Says:

    What do we mean worst? Obnoxious and classless (OSU)? Drunkest (UW)? Smug and pompous (Mich)? Cocky from yesterday’s news (IU)? Wannabe cool (Iowa)? Proud and clueless (PSU)? Boring (Purdue)? Culturally deaf (Illini )? Least engaged (NU)? Couldn’t really think of anything for MSU, Minn and the new Nebraska fans. . .

    Ok these are all just things I hear, but just need a little clarification!

    Reply

  11. Gopher Bandanna Guy Says:

    Since ‘worst’ is subjective, I’ll go with Wisconsin – given that they are simply everywhere around me and are usually drunk and obnoxious. I’ve had hot cocoa dumped on me in Camp Randall before, and beer dumped on me outside the stadium. And for no real legit reason other than wearing Maroon and Gold. I’ve been to a lot of Big Ten road games following my hapless team, and never been abused more than when in Madison. Except for maybe in Tampa Bay for a 1998 Lions-Bucs playoff game where a 10-year old kid spit at my feet and told that ‘Barry Sanders F*cking Sucks’, and his father told me to ‘Go Home, Yankee’. Good times at the Big Sombrero.

    Runner up goes to Iowa, as they always seem overly agressive, and looking to pick fights.

    Reply

    • Rowdiesdotcom Says:

      Yeah, go home Yankee! That’s a great story you’ve told me before, GBG. . .

      My worst experience also came at Camp Randall. But of course I was in the student section an wearing NU purple in the game after Ron Dayne carelessly fumbled away the game. My friends and I may have made some remarks, but who knows really? Little di they know I’ve worn red to that place many a time. So, those students around me surely weren’t from Wisconsin. Maybe New Jersey, Tony. 🙂

      Reply

  12. dusty 12 Says:

    Yeah, Badger/Packer fans are great fans — very loyal and strong — but some of them can be just jackasses in the stands. Sorry about the cocoa from those of us at Camp Randall who know how to have fun with the opponent’s fans without being idiots. I’ve had tons of beer ‘spilled’ on my at Lambeau over the years. Of course, wearing my Vikes jersey didn’t help.

    Reply

    • Tony Says:

      I had beer dumped on me at a Bucks game once – and there was very little cheering on my part (Pacers fan).

      Perhaps Wisconsinites just don’t like that beer they make up there all that much.

      Reply

      • Hal Coldvice Says:

        We’ve all had beer dumped it us. You’ve been allowed into the family up here if you get beer dumped on you.

        Reply

  13. Julie DiCaro (@JulieDiCaro) Says:

    Ahahahaha. As usual, people completely forget about Minnesota.

    Reply

    • Tony Says:

      Minnesota nice.

      Reply

    • Gopher Bandanna Guy Says:

      People completely leave Minnesota off the list because we are largely impotent in football and hoops. If this were a hockey-fan travelled website, we’d certainly have our share of haters.

      Funny though, you can find some schlub with a fancy bandanna to write about the milquetoast Gophers, but we can’t locate writers for Michigan or PSU? There are plenty of haughty Michigan and PSU fans that could put a keyboard across their laps.

      Reply

  14. Kevin Says:

    Can we edit the poll to say Indiana/Notre Dame?
    One in the same….
    Only reason I vote Indiana as the worst, otherwise it is easily O$U

    Reply

  15. Krista Jones (@kristaj19) Says:

    PSU fan behavior (not all, but many) in the wake of the scandal has to move them up this list. Never mind the fact that a large portion of the fan base is convinced that the Big Ten is out to get them football-wise and want to leave.

    Also, Wisky fans I’ve encountered at road games/neutral sites are generally ok, but more people than not have absolutely awful experiences in Madison. It borders on scary, really.

    It definitely goes back to the definition of “worst”. I could pick either of those schools.

    Reply

    • Gopher Bandanna Guy Says:

      Interesting, I’ve not heard that about PSU fans (regarding the idea that the B10 is out to ‘get them’ in football). Care to elaborate?

      I’ve personally been out to get their football program, since the Sandusky scandal broke and details were revealed. I’ve officially called for them to shut the program down indefinitely, excercising a scorched earth policy. But Gopher Bandanna Guy is just one man. And I don’t wield any Jim Delany-like clout (luckily for Penn State).

      Regarding Wisconsin fans, while obnoxious and increasingly arrogant, they’ve never done to me that would preclude me from coming back, I can handle some spilled beer/cocoa. And my trips to the Kohl Center for hoops games have been downright tame. That football atmosphere is just supercharged with booze, and that stuff happens when you’re the guy willing to fly the flag for your team.

      Reply

      • Krista Jones (@kristaj19) Says:

        One PSU message board, in particular, likes to post about their hatred of the Big Ten. It might be isolated to that group of fans (which is rather large) but some of the stuff that has been said has been mind boggling, to say the least. Some have gone so far to proclaim their desire to move to the ACC.

        It appears to revolve around their feeling that Delany doesn’t do “as much” for them as he does for the other schools. One example that is freshest in my mind is this year’s bowl. They were blasting Delany for “not doing more” to get them into a higher-tier bowl. They also posted things like “we’ve been pushed down here because of one guy” which leads me to believe that a few still don’t “get it” at all.

        Reply

  16. Nic Says:

    IU has to be the worst because for every sport that is not men’s basketball so called “IU fans” don’t care about follow or show up to support their school. Now on to their basketball fans that during football season are 4 hours north rooting for their beloved Fighting Irish of Notre Dame. Then right around December they all turn their jackets around from ND gold and blue to IU cream and crimson It is one of Indiana’s most unusual times when the changing of the season means the changing of their fans from ND football to IU basketball. That is when they stop talking about their past Heisman winners (last heisman 25 years ago) and their national titles (last title 24 years ago) and start talking about those dusty banners that have been hanging there in Assembly Hall for 25 years. Yet they talk about them like they win the national championship every year. Then win their team wins a few times over such teams as stony brook and stetson they start talking about being the best team in the nation. Can your team do something in this decade before you start running your mouths. The rest of the B1G would greatly appreciate it very much.

    Thanks from all of the B1G
    Sincerly,
    Boiler Nation

    Reply

    • Tony Says:

      Where to start …

      1. Are you starting this decade in 2010? Or in the last 10 years? If in the last 10 years, I remember attending a national championship game to see my team play.

      2. As a Cubs fan, I can assure you dusty banners are preferable to no banners.

      3. I’m sure it is easier to talk about Stetson and Stony Brook than Kentucky and Ohio State to make that point.

      Reply

      • Nic Says:

        i would say you make good points but your stats are wrong if you are saying Purdue has no national title banners. 1932 since you went with the cubs argument. next I will give you the O$U victory that was a good win but the UK game is what is going to happen to IU on the road freshman choking in the big games in hostile environments aka last week against MSU. btw your hanging your hat on 1 fluke season this past decade where you sneaked in to the tourney and got a lucky shot on a far superior Duke team, really? C’mon Man!

        Reply

      • Tony Says:

        I said no such thing about Purdue. I just said I preferred dusty banners to no banners.

        So you’re saying beating UK wasn’t a good win? I’m pretty sure it will count on the tournament resume. And if you go back and read a few of the stories, you’ll see I’ve consistently said Indiana will struggle on the road – and expect them to go 11-7 in the Big Ten (if that).

        As for 2002, I’m quite certain I was in Atlanta for a national title game. Lucky or no…

        Reply

    • Gopher Bandanna Guy Says:

      Frankly, I’m more interested in this “Notre Dame football fans turning to IU hoops fans” accusation. Can somebody corroborate this? If true, its pretty appalling. Especially since Notre Dame is not abjectly terrible in hoops, and has produced some pretty solid players of late.

      Reply

      • Tony Says:

        I didn’t even know how to address that. I lived in Indiana for 27 years and never really saw that.

        My family has always been Indiana football season ticket holders, even though both of my parents are originally from South Bend.

        My grandfather and uncle went to Notre Dame, but my entire immediate family went to Indiana and we spent our fall Saturdays in Bloomington.

        Reply

      • Mike North Says:

        Gopher Bandanna Guy, yes it’s true. I lived in Indiana for 30+years; it was amazing how many fans relish both in the good ole days of iu basketball and nd football. Head into any store and you will see that the two most dominate items are nd football and iu basketball apparel.

        If you gravitate towards bandwagon fans, then this type of behavior is acceptable. However, from my experience many sports fans despise this tactic. I believe it is the main reason why iu/nd fans view Purdue fans as delusional. Purdue fans tend to follow the teams blindly (football, men’s and women’s basketball) and support all. If that is a fault, then it is a good fault to have as a fan.

        Take a drive in late November, the state of Indiana is actually very pretty as you watch the color’s change as you drive down South US 31. Pay close attention towards Indy, you may see some shades of purple as some wash their blue nd shirts with their candy stripe iu pants.

        #iundfanboi

        Reply

      • Tony Says:

        I don’t think this differentiates between “fans” and “alumni” and/or “students,” by the way.

        Reply

      • Spencer Says:

        It is absolutely true. ND fans are among the most annoying/arrogant/stubborn fans in the entire country bar none. From Aug-Nov, all you hear about is ND football. Then many of those same fans start rooting for IU hoops because ND is bad at bball and IU is awful at football. I grew up in South Bend, and live an hour away from there now. it’s awful.

        Reply

  17. Dusty12 Says:

    I don’t have any banners.

    Reply

  18. Gopher Bandanna Guy Says:

    Hey look at that, 3 people find Minnesota fans the most objectionable.

    Speak your peace Gopha-hatas, I’ll hear you out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

